Project Creation and Project Types

Adding a Game

Developers that receive admin approval can create projects using the developer area. Click the Add Game button, then enter the project's key details. Please pay particular attention to the game type drop-down menu. You can't change this field once the project has been created.

Game Types

Free-to-Play

Browser-based or client-based free-to-play games. For a client-based game, the developer uploads the game distribution package to the Mail.ru servers. Browser games that run in an iFrame go on the games.mail.ru webpage. A browser game can have a client application, but this is not necessary. Next the developer customizes the promo page for their game. Mail.ru collects user payments and transfers the developers their revenue share.

Pay-to-Play

These are games for the https://games.mail.ru/play/download/ store. The developer uploads their game distribution package to the Mail.ru servers, sets the cost and designs the game's promo page. Mail.ru collects user payments and transfers the developers their revenue share.

After buying the game, a user can play it an unlimited number of times. DRM protection can be used at the developer’s request, binding the game to the user’s PC.

Migration from Steam

If your project has been published on Steam, we recommend familiarizing yourself with the Migration from Steam section in the Technical Information tab before creating a project in the developer area. Otherwise, leave the Steam Emulation Mode checkbox unchecked.

Создание проекта и типы проектов

Добавление игры

Разработчики, прошедшие процедуру проверки и одобрения, могут создавать проекты, используя кабинет разработчика. Нажмите кнопку "Добавить игру", затем укажите основные параметры проекта. Особое внимание стоит обратить на поле "Тип игры". После создания проекта изменить его будет нельзя.

Типы игр

Free-to-play

Браузерные или клиентские Free-to-play игры. Для клиентской игры разработчик загружает дистрибутив на серверы Mail.ru. Браузерная игра работающая внутри iFrame на странице домена games.mail.ru. Браузерная игра может иметь клиент, но его наличие не обязательно. Затем разработчик настраивает промо-страницу для своей игры. Mail.ru принимает платежи от пользователей и перечисляет разработчику его долю.

Pay-to-play

Это игра для магазина игр https://games.mail.ru/play/download/. Разработчик загружает дистрибутив своей игры на серверы Mail.ru, назначает цену и оформляет промо-страницу игры. Mail.ru принимает от пользователя плату за игру и перечисляет разработчику его долю.

Купив однажды игру, пользователь играет в нее неограниченное число раз. По желанию разработчика может быть использована DRM защита, привязывающая игру к ПК пользователя.

Миграция со Steam

Если ваш проект издавался на платформе Steam, рекомендуем перед созданием проекта в кабинете разработчика ознакомиться с разделом документации "Миграция со Steam". В противном случае галочку "Режим эмуляции Steam" нужно оставить не чекнутой.